The position of Police Officer is a responsible professional public safety position with full executive law enforcement authority. Individuals working in this capacity protect the safety and security of persons, property, equipment and facilities, and protect and preserve individual civil rights in and around Northern Illinois University controlled lands. Police personnel enforce all applicable Federal, State, and local laws, rules, regulations, and University policies and procedures. Police officers maintain the public peace and order and assist in facilitating the adjudication of infractions of the University Judicial Code and State or Federal Criminal or Civil Code violations.
* High school graduation or equivalent.
* Possession of a valid driver's license.
* Specialty factor for Paramedic applicants: you must possess a current state of Illinois or national certification for paramedic or be eligible for state of Illinois or national certification as a paramedic within 60 days of hire.
* No record of conviction of a felony or misdemeanors as identified in the Illinois Police Training Act (50 ILCS 705 et seq.), or a crime involving moral turpitude.
* Eligibility for bonding, if required by the employing institution.
* Successful completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Officers Training course as prescribed by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board, if required by the employing institution. All recruit law enforcement officers who successfully complete this course after September 1, 1984 are required to successfully pass the Law Enforcement Officers Certification Examination. (Applicants lacking such training at time of appointment will be required to complete such requirement during, and as a part of, their probationary period of employment in this class.)
* Must be at least 21 years of age upon employment. (This requirement may be further defined by local recruitment, examination, and employment policies, provided age requirements have been met with regard to all other applicable state and federal regulations in this respect.)
Note: Persons who have not successfully completed the mandated firearm training course, as approved and recognized by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board, must complete the course during their probationary period. Police officers are not authorized to carry a service weapon until successfully completing such training.
$25.90 per hour; in addition to a robust benefits package to eligible candidates.
Police Officer & Police Officer-Paramedic
Northern Illinois University
Human Resource Services
1515 W Lincoln Hwy
DeKalb, IL 60115